through these lenses

Sawatdeekaa!

with one comment

That’s hello in Thai! I’ve been here for about 2.5 weeks now and am starting to pick up more of this language than the one I’m supposed to be learning! This week, i’ve met a lot of people in my area of “work,” and have been VERY encouraged by their stories from their time here. I’ve met a few people who also work with the deaf here and am excited about the possibilities that are opening up for me to work alongside them. Lots more on that later though!

I haven’t really been taking as many pictures as I thought I would, b/c I’ve been so busy…but here are a few that I’ve caught in the past few weeks.

dsc_0376small.jpg

This was one of our first nights in Chiang Mai.

dsc_0360small.jpg

dsc_0352small.jpg

At this place, we met a man and shared with him about our best friend, the J-man. 🙂 He did not want to know him yet, but we are prinking that he will soon.

dsc_0329small.jpg

I actually saw this girl at several western food places throughout the week. I watched her for awhile and noticed a man always with her. Poor thing, she was probably made to sit there so willing Westerners would give her money.

beachsmall.jpg

Meet monkey island…but avoid meeting the mean monkeys!
dsc_0411small.jpg

dsc_0520small.jpg

THis was our boat man who took us to monkey island.

dsc_0635small.jpg

I saw this one day while I was riding my rented motor bike (don’t worry mom, no wrecks!) out in a national park.

thai-boatsmall.jpg

dsc_0739small.jpg

I’ll be back in the other country next week and can’t wait to get back into my routine. I miss having language lessons!
I’m very, VERY excited about working with the people there and ask that you would be thinking for me as I have these chances. More importantly, please be asking father to move his h.s. in the hearts I’ll encounter. It’s only by His power that they will be moved to KNOW him!

and oh how my heart is yearning for them to!

Written by throughtheselenses

February 6, 2008 at 2:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OH these pictures are marvelous!!! hey, you should do photography! i love you dearly! and i love the last picture a whole lot. cute to the max.

    mabailey11

    February 7, 2008 at 2:47 pm


Leave a Reply

