through these lenses

The Painter

with 2 comments

The other day I was thinking about change. Sometimes it’s very easy to change something. Your shoes, the clock, your gas tank’s status. These things might seem effortless, but try sticking a newborn next to a gas pump and let’s see if he does anything but coo or cry. I’d probably bank on the crying with that environment around him.I’m not a painter, but I’ve wanted something painted before. If I had brought that desire to fruition, I might have contacted an “official” painter and asked them to paint whatever it was I wanted. I imagine the process would have looked something like this:

Customer walks into Painter’s studio timidly, Painter, confident of his ability, welcomes Customer.
Customer: I’d like this messed up, scratched and dirty canvas turned into something beautiful. I can imagine it and I know just what it’s supposed to look like, but I’m not a painter. It’s been sitting in my attic for a while now and I know it’s time to let it be used for how it was created to be used.

Painter: Oh yes, I know exactly what to do.

Painter then takes the canvas and begins transforming it to be the work of art it is supposed to be. He knows exactly what to do and exactly what detail to put in or take out. It takes him months, but once his final stroke is brushed, the canvas is finished. He returns it to Customer, revealing it’s completely renovated state. Customer is amazed, for it is exactly what she hoped for.I can’t imagine this change, and sometimes, can’t tell a difference from day to day. He does though. The Creator always know exactly what he is creating. I think I should trust the painter to finish the work, for He loves His work and wants it to shine and glow.

I think this is our hearts. Father reminded me the other day that I can’t see the change I want so badly for my own heart. I can’t even fathom it. I can choose to trust His ability to change me though. He’s much more trained than I.

Someone recently led me to read something written to the people of Corinth, the 2nd letter. “..and we all are being transformed into the same image, from one degree of gl*ry to another. For this comes from Father.”

Day by day, hour by hour, I’m asking him to keep brushing, keep using beautiful colors to cover the dark and dingy spots I allow to creep onto my canvas, continue to change, and never stop shaping that thing that was once left alone in the attic, into something worth hanging on the wall.

 

I trust the Painter, for He sees the beauty.

Written by throughtheselenses

February 17, 2008 at 12:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jethker! i loved your painting story! how inspiring…i’m glad to hear you’re doing SO well away from here and over there! pretty soon, i will know a little bit of the struggles you are facing due to being away! but i trust the painter too…He’s always been faithful. 🙂

    Jerner

    February 18, 2008 at 4:05 pm

  2. Beautiful! Father has gifted you with words and I loved reading this, friend. The picture you ‘painted’ with your words is a perfect illustration of our Painter and us as the canvas!
    LOVE you 🙂

    Bon

    February 23, 2008 at 1:22 am


Leave a Reply

