through these lenses

A real weekend…and Harry.

with 3 comments

I dread the idea of this becoming a place of simply documenting the tiny little things that I do each day. So, I creatively resolve to tell you an exhilarating and spectacularly non-boring story of the adventures that I’ve encountered lately! Ha. You too, can play along with me in this game of seeing it that way.

My schedule for this past weekend was changed semi-last minute (as many things are here, I’m learning…and welcoming…slowly). Instead of having a deaf camp/training thing, I got to rest. YES…I did just say that. An entire weekend devoted to being characteristically like a weekend! I speak truth to you…it DOES exist.
I let my alarm clock take a nap as I slept in and then spent some of my afternoon up on a mountain listening, reading and just sitting for the sake of it! It was grand…and Father was so kind to meet me there.

dsc_1008.jpg

This was my spot..I almost wrote my name in the dirt to symbolize my love for it!

dsc_1003.jpg

And this is what I saw from said spot. Now I call them “hills,” fully knowing that this raised-in-flatter-than-pancakes-West-Texas mind of mine definitely calls them mountains. I have to be on the careful side, ya know…in case Appalachian Annie comes and tells me what a real “mountain” is.

sharon.jpg

After that exhilarating time on the….mountain, I went to eat dinner with my old friend S. I met her last year and have been SO looking forward to our reunion. We’re just about the same age and she’s a really kind, unique and FUN gal. She’s even my friend. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve welcomed text messaging back into my life because of S! That says tons people, tons. S does not know Who my heart knows, but she’s heard time and time again. I want her to know. Can you imagine if your first and only friend of another country didn’t know? Please try, and then ask Father to stir her heart.

dsc_10562.jpg

Now these are my new friends and they know! Boy, do they know!!! The three on the right (namely #1, #2, & #3 since I obviously can’t show you sign names on here) are deaf and I met them one night at their shoe-shining stand in town. Thanks to cell phones and S’s character translating, we were able to learn some of their land’s signs and communicate with them! If my heart had never beat before, it surely would have started from the excitement of this night! We were invited to their house and then to #1 and #2’s wedding in a few days!
We’re told we can anything in America. Because of their conditions, they are told they can NOTHING here. I want to ask Father if they can be m-workers. Wouldn’t that be awesome? I know they can…but they don’t agree…YET! Maybe we can all ask for them to know this, just like we’re asking for S to know. Oh, and we can also ask for S to be stirred in the midst of her helping with character translation. She’s the middle man for the Truth and she doesn’t even know what she’s saying.

dsc_0987.jpg

Obvious change of topic now.
This is Harry and I wanted to invite you to his funeral in my bathroom, but figured that the plane tickets over would exponentially be more than the price of his tissuefied coffin…so I settled on a picture. Don’t be fooled grieving friends, this does not represent my living conditions here. I am beyond blessed.

In other news…

dsc_0944.jpg

I’ve addicted another youth to the wit that is The Office, and my friends in Dallas would be pleased to know that you can get ALL 3 seasons for less than $10. Um…yes, it’s probably illegal (can I say that publicly?), and I did partake in this awesome deal. I’ve not decided if I’m taking orders yet. I don’t think I’d have room.

dsc_0977.jpg

This is at the local university in town (S’s Alma Mater).
For those collegiate friends of mine: Do we see a growing trend, even in Asia?
What element would you add to complete the picture?
dsc_10582.jpg

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is my Reading Class. I Love them already.
Hope, Manon, Katibeth, Henna and Spencer. We read books. We color. We count things. Sometimes we even get to make paper airplanes and have airplane flying contests. Don’t tell them that though…that’s on Thursday’s lesson plan!

And since Spencer resembled a melancholy Spongebob above, here’s a more accurate depiction of him below.

dsc_09362.jpg

And that’s that. There’s my story…exhilarating and spectacularly non-boring. ๐Ÿ™‚

Written by throughtheselenses

February 25, 2008 at 9:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh, how i love to read your witty thoughts! thank you for sharing friend.

    sunshine

    March 4, 2008 at 12:58 am

  2. that. kid. is. so. cute. looks like dennis the menace. all of those kids are cute. i love KB’s senior pic pose in the center.

    and i like your spot on the mountain. ๐Ÿ™‚ wish i could sit there with you. but that spot is reserved for father i s’pose!

    mabailey11

    March 6, 2008 at 10:13 am

  3. WEll, I’m sitting here drownding in my tears. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thanks for mentioning me! Gosh, I did a ton of character translating and I ate with y’all too!!! GOSH!!!!!! And about Office, I’m just “a youth” to you. sniff sniff.
    I feel so special,l heffalump.
    hahaha JK. I’ll forgive you.
    Man, that was such an awesome weekend. Thanks for making it awesome, miss awesome.

    Holli

    March 10, 2008 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

