through these lenses

roots

with 3 comments

You-Know-Who came out of that grave on this day a long time ago. PG! I’m more grateful this year to know this story and to know that He is living in my heart than I’ve ever been. I re-realized today that ONLY HE can change my heart. Put an action to my feet, a word to my mouth, or a look on my face, and they are just…things. Let Him change the core of my heart, and then there is real, sp*r*t filled life. I love learning this, no matter how many times. It’s the root of truth.

Today is also 3-23-08. That means it’s math problem day! 3+2+3=08!!! I love these days! Doesn’t the precision of it all just make your life brighter!? I want to calculate how many there are in a century. And finally, today marks the half way point in this journey. Hmmm. I’m a bit like oil and water on my feelings towards this, but tomorrow, I’ll probably feel totally different. Bloom where you’re planted is slowly becoming my mantra.
3 people, along with the three reasons why today is great, went swimming today! All three of them work for the families I help, so it was wonderful to know that they were taking such a bold step here. Swimming is different here than at home. They ask you questions before getting wet that require not just a ‘yes or no’ response, but a real commitment, if you agree to it. They commit to sacrifice their lives to have their hearts changed. Why don’t we do this? Why don’t we crave it?

Written by throughtheselenses

March 23, 2008 at 5:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jess,

    I miss you! The moment you said the date calculation I smiled! I didn’t know you had a regular blog. I’m glad I found this and that I’m getting your updates.

    Talk with you soon!
    Ashley

    Ashley Truckey

    March 28, 2008 at 5:40 am

  2. swimming. 🙂 that is SO cool and you’re right, why in the world don’t we do the same? it seems like it would concrete the commitment that much more! sammy told me he called you yesterday! 🙂 i realized as i was flying back to texas that we hadn’t called you when we were together, so i gave him your number. 🙂 i’m sure it was kind of weird, but i thought you’d like to still hear from him! 🙂 what day are you coming back? i forgot…i’m pretty sure i’m leaving for NC on May 17th…i’m almost positive that you won’t be back by then…but let’s start planning when you’re going to come visit us in NC!!! 🙂 🙂

    i can’t believe:

    1. i’m married
    2. about to graduate COLLLEGE!
    3. could possibly be pregnant any day now.
    4. am an adult, who pays bills, has a husband, and a family someday!
    5. i might have my first full time job soon (not SO excited about that one, but whatev!)
    6. i haven’t seen you since my wedding!
    7. you’ve been in ctown for 3months now….it seems like so much LONGER that you’ve been gone!
    8. we’ll never live together again 😦
    9. i just had my last spring break in college.
    10. just had to make it to number 10! 🙂

    i love you.
    joanna

    joanna

    March 28, 2008 at 6:02 am

  3. Jessica, I love your blog!!!!! How awesome are the photos of your time here. I also love having you as a neighbor just around the mountain. You are a blessing to us. Germaine

    Monty and Germaine

    April 2, 2008 at 10:09 pm


Leave a Reply

