through these lenses

Jalepenos and sweet toes.

with 3 comments

The other day I thought I smelled of Mexican food…and I got really sad when that wasn’t my clothes’ real scent. That’s really sad in itself…that I want to smell like jalepenos and greasiness. Spell check just told me that jalepenos wasn’t a real word, but the options it had to replace it were: p*nt*cost*l, dependable, and penologists. hmm.

Another other day, I decided to lose something. It was my balance and sense of awareness. I guess I just thought it needed to stay home while I went out to play. We all went into town on this day and decided to “get our hair washed.” Strangely, that’s a common thing to just go and do. You pick a salon (of the many) and spend about 2.5 hours getting “the treatment.” I love “the treatment.” They wash your hair (in a very unique way), massage your head, neck, shoulders and arms for about 30 gazillion minutes, fix your hair…and on their opening day…(like this one just happened to be celebrating, hence the 20 extra workers hanging around to help) they give their customers a “deep conditioning” gift. So…in the midst of all this awesomeness, the store is buzzing with it’s 37 workers (overpopulation must require that every store needs triple the amount of workers), and I got up from the rinsing chair. Somehow in the 6 minutes of rinsing, I forgot that I had to step up to get to the rinsing platform. Somehow, my feet also forgot to be working on the way down from said platform. Somehow, I busted in front of all the 63 workers, ensuring everyone there that I was indeed the strange pale foreigner. Mr. Hair Washer Man helped me up, helped me put my shoes back on and kept telling me he was embarrassed. HE WAS?!?!?! I laughed at myself and returned to my seat to be conditioned. Giggling through the rest of “the treatment,” I realized I was only making people stare at me more. An hour later, a full length mirror decided to hug me. My yelp and feet raising, ninja-looking skills (I was sitting, so feet had to protect since arms were being massaged) again, called attention to the white girl. Mr. Hair Washer Man wasn’t around to tell me of his embarrassment, so I went ahead and proclaimed it myself…not that anyone understood me besides Holli. Anyway…I paid my $2.11 for “the treatment” (yes, you should move here for the extremely cheap economy) and had a photo session with the 89 workers. See picture below.

Is it weird to say massage on a blog?

So after Holli and I got back from the overpopulated salon, I decided to keep my awareness locked up in my room….even after “Mr. Hair Washer Man’s” embarrassment. I spilled (spilt works too, even though spell check disagrees. I looked it up.) sugar all over the kitchen floor. After getting the top layer back into the bag (don’t want to be wasteful), I spilled it again! This time it went into my shoes, under the refrigerator and other various places that it was hard to retrieve from. Geez.

I’m going to go kill some flies and spiders now. Hopefully, I can keep my balance while doing so.

Written by throughtheselenses

April 12, 2008 at 1:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. šŸ™‚ thanks for the peace sign picture!! oh boy, i wish i was there for the treatment and the picture! šŸ™‚

    cassie

    April 12, 2008 at 11:18 am

  2. *sigh*
    I’m really hoping that 3 of the same comments from me don’t come up here sooner or later becase it said “error” on the first two. BUT I LOVED THIS POST.
    #1. You are really cute.
    #2. You are very pretty.
    #3. This story is hilarious.
    #4. I miss you and I love you.

    Leanne Lou Carter

    April 13, 2008 at 12:00 am

  3. OO MY GOODNESS! #1 I love your story… When you return we will work on balancing techniques…#2 the girl in the picture with you.. the blonde one looks just like my mom when she was about 15!!! NO JOKE!!! I will somehow email you a picture of her or you can see it when you get home. I mean it is freaky how much she looks like my mom! Anyway, I love you and hope you are doing well! I think of you often! Katie and I talk about how much we miss you a LOT!!! See you in a few short months!

    Marissa

    April 14, 2008 at 7:43 am


Leave a Reply

