through these lenses

rugs and mugs

with 2 comments

There are these two tangible things here that really seem to wrap my heart up in comfort. One is this old oriental rug in front of my couch and it’s the perfect size to sprawl out on. I’ve stared at my ceiling for hours from this rug, allowing my mind to wander wherever it wants to go. The other is this little green and yellow mug that I use every single day. There are actually three identical mugs available to me, but I’ve been using and rewashing this mug alone for about a month now. In the mornings, I like to get my green mug and fill it with something wonderfully warm and then take it over to the red rug. I tell ya, this rug is particularly inviting and kindly allows me to stand, lie and sit upon it whenever I want. Red rug and green mug, thank you.

When on the red and drinking from the green, I find I’ve yet to drink a cup of coffee or tea without the last sip being considerably colder than all the other sips. I’m sure thermodynamics and Mrs. Restivo could give me a thorough explanation about why this occurs, and I think even knowing the basics of physics helps me understand it. It makes sense. I don’t want it to make sense though. I just want it to stay hot. I don’t want to lose the goodness of the drink because I wait too long or waste my time. I never want to lose the goodness of the cup of tea these past few months have given me.

Father, make it boil forever.

Written by throughtheselenses

April 14, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jess,

    I love reading your posts and hearing about all of your exciting times overseas. It’s awesome to see what you are learning and going through–it’s definitely an encouragement over here. 🙂 And, as usual, your photography is awesome. I love seeing all that you come up with and the culture there.

    I just wanted to say hello. 🙂 I hope that you are doing well!

    Ashley

    Ashley

    April 16, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  2. i just wanted to say how much i enjoy not only your images (because they are stunning…amazing…beautiful!) but your thoughts as well. i love to read just a touch of those wonderfully interesting thoughts that go through that beautiful head of yours. thank you for sharing friend.

    sunshine

    sunshine

    April 17, 2008 at 11:30 am


Leave a Reply

