through these lenses

home?

leave a comment »

I find myself in one of my favorite locations right now. It is so rare to be in one these in this hemisphere, so I’m trying to soak it all up. Ambient light shining on my fingers as I type, books galore standing upright beside me, the strong aroma of the coffee of the day lingering through the air and to my welcoming nostrils, and some of my favorite sounds dancing in my ears. This is a coffee shop and this feels like home.

This is just one of many places that feels like home though. Today, the whereabouts of the others have been stirring in my mind. There seem to be so many cozy places that warm my soul. This is good, for it makes it easy to keep out of the cold…but this new line of, “simplify,” keeps resounding in me.

I feel like this man. I’ve got these things right in front of me, but I don’t know which to choose. They all look so appealing…and they all are beneficial. It seems that He wants to help me pick out a few…OR…can I really purchase each thing?

I’m not sure what to do with this, but Father is quickening me to ask Him repeatedly. I am grateful, once again for this silence. It seems to make Him so much louder. Louder in that soft and extremely gentle kind of way. When He speaks…it’s so strong. When I abide and listen, it’s even stronger.

I will leave the city that has the coffee shops tomorrow. At least I’m simplifying in that way!

Written by throughtheselenses

April 27, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

