through these lenses

The post that didn’t have a title for 3 weeks

leave a comment »

Lately my life has been a bit busy. Hmm…I wonder if any generation from America will ever be able to say the opposite of that ever again. It’s like it’s faux-pas if you DON’T say that. Hmm.
I traveled to Hong Kong last week with 2 of the gals from the family I’m staying with. Let me try to explain what HK was like for me:

America(n people, tastes)
Europe(an products, people, influences)
Asia(n smells, sights, sounds, faces, languages) +
___________________________________________
Hong Kong

I really enjoyed myself there. Aka- found some milk, cozy coffee shops, a good book store and cinnamon flavored things. 🙂 Ooooh, these comforting, home-reminding things just almost made my heart do cartwheels. Things were easy there. Convenient. “Normal,” if you will. It was easier than I assumed it would be to just pick right up and get used to everyday things being effortless.

Then…I saw the faces of the place. Their real, worn, regular ol faces. He always does that to me…shows me His people when my eyes aren’t ready (so I think). I start looking at them through my eyes and He never fails to take my chin, turn it in His direction and make the things once blurry, defined. I was riding on the subway, extremely content with my surroundings and letting these repetitive words flow through my ears (with a catchy, subway-friendly beat, of course):
Someday I’m gonna see, see the King.
Someday I’m gonna see, see the King.
Someday I’m gonna see Him.

As these lines whizzed through my mind, so did the faces of those I was whizzing underneath a mega-city with. It just burdened me and I remembered why (again) it really doesn’t matter if I get real milk, or if I can have all my convenient comforts.
They can’t sing this song with me.
They can’t hope for this like I can.
They can’t, because sometimes I just won’t give up my milk.

Milk. Are you really worth that much? Is that why I’m living? You sure do taste great, but I know something that’s Sweeter. Tastebuds, crave what’s lasting, please. And share that Sweetness.

I know a lot of you have e-mailed, called and asked about the earthquake. I did not feel anything, but was saddened to hear of the many who lost their lives that day. When I was in HK, the flags were at half-mast for the country. There was a 3-minute moment of silence a week after in most of the cities in this country. I took a picture of a newspaper, documenting those standing still for those who have passed. Please continue to lift this up. One of my team members is helping out now and has numerous opportunities to be JC’s hands and feet.

The cabs in HK were so cute!


The rain kept us inside for the first couple of days, so we found one of those comforts I mentioned earlier:

Maybe It’s European, maybe it’s Hong-Kong-ian…but, these curvy escalators were just plain nifty to me.

For some more pictures, check out my photography blog. (It’s on the links under “blogroll” on the top right hand side of the page!)

Written by throughtheselenses

May 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

